Who We Are


District 21 Map

                                                        Retired in Renfrew County

District 21 is one of 48 branches of the Retired Teachers of Ontario dedicated to promoting and protecting the interests of retired members of RTO/ERO. District 21 welcomes retired teachers and administrators who have worked in Renfrew County, or have taught elsewhere but make their home in Renfrew County.

The District 21 membership of over 900 is made up of retired elementary and secondary teachers, principals and vice-principals, and supervisory officers from the Public, Catholic, and French systems. There is also a growing number of Associate Members, many of whom receive spousal pensions as widows or widowers of retired Ontario teachers, or have been employed by educational organizations.

Most RTO/ERO members live in Ontario and are affiliated with one of 48 districts into which the organization is divided, including two Districts in British Columbia. At the District level, members participate in social, travel and leisure opportunities, political advocacy and District Executive leadership roles. At the Provincial level, members are actively involved in the Senate (the governing body of RTO/ERO), the Provincial Executive and several committees.